Introducing a new Omaha Sports event you won’t want to miss.


Omaha Sports Commission and the Omaha Sports Hall of Fame have teamed up to create the Omaha Sports Commission Awards (OSCA’s)


The Omaha Sports Commission and Omaha Sports Hall of Fame have agreed to team together to create the Omaha Sports Commission Awards (The OSCA’s). Celebrating the past, present and future of sports in Omaha, the inaugural OSCA’s will be unveiled at an evening event on Thursday, May 30, 2019, at the Holland Theater.

Shane Bradford, president and founder of the Omaha Sports Hall of Fame, says the new awards will continue to recognize former sports athletes, coaches, contributors and teams, which began with the creation of the Omaha Sports Hall of Fame in 2007. Bradford said 76 individuals and teams have received Hall of Fame recognition, including sports legends such as Bob Gibson, Gale Sayers, Bob Boozer, Johnny Rodgers and Eric Crouch. Bradford said The OSCA’s will create a new opportunity to recognize local sports stars and the latest Omaha Hall of Fame inductees during a memorable evening.

“Teaming up with the Omaha Sports Commission will allow our organization the ability to honor athletic achievement in our community in a manner that truly acknowledges individual and team excellence,” Bradford said. “Omaha Sports Hall of Fame members will continue to be featured at the Durham Museum, and also will be showcased on the Omaha Sports Commission website.”

Josh Todd, president and executive director of the Omaha Sports Commission, said his organization continues to bring exciting national and international events to Omaha, such as the recent Curling World Cup and upcoming 2020 U.S. Olympic Team Trials for Swimming. He said The OSCA’s, which also will serve as the new annual fundraiser for the non-profit Omaha Sports Commission, brings two passionate sports groups together for one cause.

“As someone fairly new to Omaha I was astounded at Omaha’s incredible sports history, and believe we can do much more to celebrate our past while providing new opportunities to recognize current athletes and teams, ensuring we continue to enrich Omaha through sports the year round,” Todd said. “There are sports commissions around the country using a similar awards system and we think The OSCA’s will be extremely popular in Omaha.”

Bradford said a committee is finalizing the selection of 2019 Omaha Sports Hall of Fame inductees and an announcement on the list will be made in the near future. Todd said additional details on the May 30 event, including some new twists for the expanded awards program, will be released at a later date.


Be sure to Stay tuned so you can reserve a spot at the event, and find out who will be honored at the 2019 OSCA’s.



Contact Us

Reach out to us if you have any questions about the OSCA’s, or if you would like to volunteer or contribute. Thank you!


General Questions:

Josh Todd
(402) 502-0374

Media Inquiries:

Doug Parrott
(402) 305-1625

Name *